Relationships and Love

I’m Trying to Date a “Unicorn”.

I am a decade older and still trying to find the one. One of my “encouraging” friends tells me I am looking for a unicorn. If I am, he has gray hair and most likely little of it, lots of wrinkles, and probably has traded his running shoes in for a pickle paddle!

Love has not come as easily as I thought it would. That’s okay. While I was looking, I found some pretty cool things about me.

Be picky in who you date

If someone is pursuing you, it may feel really good. We like to feel good and feel flattered. Please don’t get sucked into a relationship that isn’t reflecting what you want.

I am particular, or you might say picky. I say I am particular and intentional. I used to go out with men who were not aligned with the direction I was headed in. If you meet someone no matter what the attraction, and he is not on the same page in regards to relationship, values, education, or whatever is important to you and what you really desire, then time is wasting and perhaps hearts will break.

I want to date and at some point be in a monogamous relationship. If the guy flattering you has no intention of the same thing, you are wasting your time! I entered and stayed in relationships that were not aligned with my romantic intentions and values. It was disingenuous to my heart to do so.

Don’t get stuck in the comfortable

Even if it feels flattering, if you know it’s not the right person for you, don’t go there. You might get stuck and not know how to leave. People like the familiar, even if it’s not what they want or is good for them.

I am about to move. Moving always implies new opportunities to meet my gray-haired unicorn! I want to be careful though. I don’t want to be disappointed. I want to be cautious, intentional, and trust if he is in the new piece of geography where I live, it will come with ease. Nothing will be forced or rushed. I want to make wise decisions.

I say my affirmations of love and surrender. I ask to be guided. I trust beyond my knowing. I look forward to finding love in this decade of my life.

Leave a comment