Words Come And Go- a poem

Words come and go.

Wandering from my mouth into thin, blue air, like a curlicue of smoke rising from a smoldering cigarette, they dissipate.

I knit them in my brain,

giving them significance as I utter them into the world,

hoping their birth means something.

But they are just many, so many of trillions, that no matter how I string them together,

they lose their strength and my pearls of wisdom break,

clattering pieces across the floor.

I gather them up, feeling if perhaps someone had read them, they might be of value.

And I begin again, searching for the true meaning, the written path that will illuminate

my way.

I gather words on a spring day, I gather words in my bag.

I straddle the horse and gallop off to the unknown, sure that who I find will be happy

upon my arrival;

He has been waiting for my words. He grins, slapping his knee at my stories.

I tell more until I have him rolling across the floor.

My words have found a home, a place to warm and delight,

in the belly of the man.

Words come and go, but these stay.

About Victoria Yeary

Author Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

